Mommy Goes Baking

      All the mothers of little prince and princess will surely know what all are their growing demands and what all effort we have to put in order to fulfill them. So this time I had to become a baker. You may think what is the big deal about this; well I had never used an oven in my life. This was the first time I tried and it was to fulfill my daughter’s demand. So her demand was to bake a cake. I was like! Cake! Seriously!!  I was not at all sure about the result. So as I opened my fridge I found some grapes, which was almost in the edge of rotting. So I thought of making use of it in some way. So I started my Google hunt. For my surprise I found a very nice and healthy recipe for grapes cake.

Below is the grape cake blog that I found with the help of Google –
https://eatspeak.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/grape-upside-down-cake/

When we make a cake using a recipe we cannot make much of modifications, as ingredients should be according to the specified measure. Also being an amateur I didn’t want to do any experiments as of now. So let me start with my cake making experience.

     My oven counts in Celsius hence I had set it to 180° c. As part of the whole process my daughter had made a deal with me that she will mix the ingredients and I would do the baking. 

Prerequisites and Ingredients:

Fruit topping:

  • 3 tbsp. butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2-3 cups green grapes, sliced in half

For cake batter:

  • 8tbsp. of butter (I melted it and let it cool so it can be mixed easily as I don’t have a strong mixing machine)
  • ¾ cup of sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • ½ cup of milk
  • 1tsp. vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 ½ tsp. baking powder
  • 1 ½ cups of whole wheat flour

      I added all these ingredients into a mixing bowl and gave it to my princess to mix as that was the deal. Next step was to arrange the grapes on the baking tray. When I realized I didn’t have enough grapes as mentioned in the recipe i was worried for a minute that how will I manage to adjust these grapes with other ingredients as it was my first experience of cake making. Then I laughed at my foolishness as I realized that ingredients will be according to the amount of flour used, how does it connect to the amount of grapes I had anyway. By the time I was doing my thinking, my princess was already done with her two tasks. One was mixing the batter and next was arranging grapes on the baking tray.
IMG_2017-03-22_06-26-11

20170314_200048.jpg

     So our next task on the list was to do the caramel. I had no idea how this would come out. As per the instructions I mixed butter and brown sugar in a pan over the flame. May be I just had to melt it till it got mixed but in my imagination I had a thought to bring it to the consistency of sauce. As I mixed further the brown sugar started getting condensed and went into the state of hardness like a caramel toffee. I even tasted a piece from the pan and it tasted just like a toffee. Seeing this I got a little freaked out, I had no idea how I could mend this. I sharpened my thinking nerves and finally got an idea of adding little milk and water. Fortunately it worked and I got the consistency of sauce.
Now I poured the caramel sauce over the arranged grapes and then the cake batter in the baking tray. Now I placed the tray in the preheated oven. As my gas oven is a little slow compared to other electronic ovens, so the baking took 40 to 50 min.
Once done, I took out the tray from oven and it smelled great. Finally the yummy and healthy cake was ready.

20170314_214255

20170314_215322

       I called it healthy because the flour I used here is whole-wheat flour. I would suggest that everyone should try this.

20170314_220741
Worth a shot…

Happy baking 🙂

     Do let me know if you liked this recipe too. Also  if you could do any improvisation over this feel free to comment below.  You can also mail me at

sim_zan@yahoo.com

and you can also follow me on twitter @usmanfsgmailcom for updates

…..
I will be glad to hear from you 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

